An Owl Reviews Delivery Pizza from Domino’s

owlreviewpizza2

Domino’s Pizza Delivery – Medium Pepperoni & Bacon Hand Tossed Pizza w/Breadsticks.

On a surprisingly hot, but quite pleasant early autumn afternoon, I decided to treat myself to some pizza for lunch. It was Friday after all, the end of a hectic work week. And by work, I basically mean, sitting in trees and occasionally flying around sporadically. I wanted something cheap and easy, but still delicious, like a field mouse but NOT a field mouse if you get what I’m saying. I’m an owl. I remember seeing some commercials for a company telling me that their pizza wasn’t very good, but they were working on it and that apparently they were putting a guarantee on the box that the pizza was now good, especially compared to how it used to be. Well, what’s good for the goose (my friend Sperel, who is a goose, and likes Domino’s) is good for the Gander (my friend Steve Gander, who is also a goose), so I decided that Domino’s it would be.

Finding a coupon online, I ordered 2 medium 2 topping pizzas, some would take this opportunity to try two different types of pizza, but I’m a fan of stocking up. So I ordered a pepperoni & bacon and a pepperoni & bacon. And some breadsticks. If you haven’t ordered online from Domino’s in a while, you’re in for a treat. Not only is the process quick and easy, but after placing your order, you’ll be taken to a screen that updates you in the pizza making process and informs you exactly what state your almost delivered pizza is in, whether that’s in the “making stage” or the “baking stage” or… “on it’s way.” This is an example of technology done right. Some would say it’s an unnecessary convenience. But, I’m often amused by bright lights being flashed on me in the middle of the evening, because I’m an owl. So, I enjoyed it.

As for the pizzas themselves, they were good… about what I was expecting from a chain pizza place, certainly nothing to shake a stick at. The pepperoni and bacon provided a nice counter balance to the melted cheese and marinara sauce gracing this hand tossed pizza. The Italian seasoned crust was a nice new addition to “new dominos” and one that I enjoyed quite a bit. I ordered a garlic dipping sauce to go along with my bread sticks and used it constantly with the ends of my crust. I feel I would have enjoyed them just fine without the dipping sauce. Unfortunately, what made the crust special, was what went a little overboard in the bread sticks. There’s such a thing as being over seasoned… and these bread sticks probably don’t understand this, as they’ve always been raised to be over seasoned, so they probably think they’re fine.  But me? I disagreed with their upbringing.

Also, a minor quip, but one of the two pizzas was not properly cut into slices. It seems in their rush to get it out the door, they forgot to properly quality check, leaving it unsliced. That wasn’t a big deal to me, I’m an owl. I eat it by pecking my head down and grabbing off little bits of pieces and then looking around nervously as I swallowed them down. But I imagine that would be an annoyance to someone with hands.

2.5 out of 4 hoots.*

 
*as always, if something is really bad, I won’t give a hoot.  I’m an owl.

Leave a Reply

